All Cameras Are Police Cameras

In the UK, one of the most heavily surveillanced countries in the world, it’s impossible to travel without being recorded in some way. Add to that a public paranoia fed on a diet of vague terrorist threats, sweeping police powers, the gradual erosion of individual freedoms and you have a repressive and authoritarian state under the guise of ‘safety’.

When they arrived, the police officers explained that carrying a camera in the vicinity of Central London was grounds for suspicion. I might be a terrorist who posed a threat to the good citizens of London – my own city. Equally I might be casing the joint for some future crime, studying its defences in order to circumvent them.

Carrying a camera thus justified the suspicion of the security guards who stopped me and performed a citizen’s arrest, detaining me until the arrival of the police. This suspicion in turn justified the actions of the police, who threatened me with arrest if I did not identify myself and explain my actions. For carrying a camera, I was told, I could be taken to the station and charged with “Going Equipped”, a provision of the 1968 Theft Act which determines the imprisonment for up to three years of anyone carrying equipment which may be used to commit a burglary.

Read More

Leave a Reply

