My life after Anonymous: ‘I feel more fulfilled without the internet’

Sure, he might have a criminal record and without a choice in the matter, but there are very important messages that Davis speaks about the way we live in a constantly connected, distracted and over-complicated world. Having a constant link to everything else in the world has long turned from being an asset to a liability.

“For it is our attention spans that have suffered the most. Our lives are compressed into short, advertisement-like bursts or “tweets”. The constant stream of drivel fills page after page, eating away at our creativity. If hashtags were rice grains, do you know how many starving families we could feed? Neither do I – I can’t Google it.

A miracle cure or some kind of therapeutic brilliance are not something I could give, but I can confidently say that a permanent lack of internet has made me a more fulfilled individual. And as one of many kids glued to their screens every day, I would never before have imagined myself even thinking those words. Before, the idea of no internet was inconceivable, but now – not to sound as though it’s some kind of childish and predictable revelation spawned as a result of going cold turkey – I look back on the transcripts of my online chats (produced as legal evidence in my case, in great numbers) and wonder what all the fuss was about.”*

My life after Anonymous: ‘I feel more fulfilled without the internet’

Leave a Reply

