PMcoder – I “get” Google+ Now

He’s correct on most points – there is a key difference between a network for people you know, but may share limited interests with, as opposed to one with people you don’t know, but do share interests with. G+ can function in either form, but the evidence so far shows that it veers towards being interest based, which draws more comparisons as a fuller-featured Twitter than Facebook. I believe there is a time and place for both to be used. 

But as for this putting Facebook at risk? Hardly. Facebook is here to stay, and now they have the bankroll. The strength lies in the number of people on the network, eventually the majority of people on the planet will be hooked on this one network, and it’ll be controlled by one guy.

“How many people do I know in my friends list on FB. All of them. How many of them post content that I actually find interesting? Hardly any of them. Why? Because the list is built almost solely on physical contact from some point and time in life. None of it is based on interest in the content that they are posting or that I am posting. My stream is therefore a bunch of random noise about peoples lives.”

“Now contrast that to Google+. How many people do I know in reality on G+? Very few. How many of them post content that I actually find interesting? Almost all of them. This is because I have added people and have had people add me based on what they/I have to share rather than knowing me personally. I find chains of like minded and interesting people, NEW people, through conversations in comments.”

I “get” Google+ Now and Apparently so do Others (Facebook May Have a Problem)

Leave a Reply

